Native American drum

Native American drum

Today I got to see a special visitor. He is a classmate’s uncle. He shared two stories with our class. The first story was about a wolf and a porcupine.  Once upon a time there lived a porcupine and a wolf. The wolf was very hungry just then he saw some berries. The wolf said, “Hey porcupine there are some berries over their and I’m going to eat it!” The porcupine said, “No me” so he ran and ate it all up. When wolf got there there, there was no food left for wolf. When they were walking wolf said again, “Hey look porcupine their is some food over there by the lake I’m going to eat it up”.  “No me” said the porcupine and ran over and ate it up. When wolf reached the lake he was starving but once again porcupine ate all the berries up. Still they both kept walking, when they were walking along wolf saw a raven.  This time he wanted to lie to porcupine since porcupine was being selfish and eating all the food up before wolf could put his mouth on any of it.  Wolf said, “Hey porcupine look there is some food on that stump andI’m going to eat it up”.  “No me” said the porcupine. So the porcupine ran over again and was just about to take a bite when raven said, “Don’t eat me, I’m a person”. This scared porcupine and made wolf laugh on the ground so hard he started to tear up. The porcupine got draconian punishments.  1. His name would be named “No-me”.  2. He would have spikes so no one would want to be close to him.  3. He would be really slow, this way he couldn’t be greedy and eat all the food before his friends could get any.

I think Native Americans used this story to teach kids not to be greedy.