Coen: To convince to not cook red meat.

Mom: To get Coen to eat red meat.

Coen: I strongly believe that red meat is bad for you.

Mom: In my opinion, red meat in moderation is a healthy choice for our family.

Coen: Another reason is also bad because red meat has a lot of fat and I don’t really like eating red meat.

Mom: Most importantly, our bodies need fat and energy to grow and and stay active. A small portion of red meat provides you body with high amount of nutrients and calories.  If you eat a slice of melon that is the size of your palm vs. the same size of lean steak, the steak will keep you full longer and give you more energy.

Coen: In my opinion, red meat is also bad for you because it is gross to look at. It has blood and it just looks unhealthy.

Mom: Another reason is that diets that lack meat tend to have a larger portion of carbohydrates which often contain high amounts of hidden sugars.  For example, a veggie patty may sound healthy (one of Coen’s favorites), but many brands contain added ingredients such as white rice which is a carbohydrate that can turn into SUGAR…don’t even get me started on SUGAR!

Coen: To sum it up, I still don’t want to eat red meat because I think there are better choices for energy than red meat.

Mom: Red meat in moderation is healthy for our family.